MINUTES
College of Fellows
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Atlanta
Room 203, Atlanta Hilton
10:00 am to 12:00 pm
www.ashraecof.org

- 1. Call to order 10:08am by President Elect Mark Modera
- 2. Introductions
- 3. Attendance sign-in

Members -

Mark Modera COF President Elect
Peter Simmonds COF Secretary
Dave Branson COF Treasurer
Patricia Adelman ASHRAE Staff
Megan Hezlap ASHRAE Staff

Ken Cooper David Claridge Larry Spielvogel Pat Graef Mike Scofield Nick DesChamps Damon Gowan Victor Goldsmidt Bob Baker David Branson Dennis Knight Richard Rooley Art Halstrom Sam Cummings Kirk Mescher Vin Gupta Brian Krafthefer Birol Kilkis S.A. Sherif Dave Grumman

Guests –..... COF Travel Award Recipient

- 4. Review and approval of the Agenda -
- 5. Chairman's Report Modera
 - a. Fund raising and donations well funded
 - b. COF Website ASHRAE is now funding and managing the website for the COF
- 6. Approval of Minutes from Chicago; motion by Goldschmidt second by Hallstrom approved unanimously

7. Action Items:

- Mid-November Year End mailing to Fellows who have not given in 2015 and are not receiving RP or LMC solicitations
- b. Invite SA chair to next meeting
- Pursue Kirk Mescher's idea to move \$20,000 from gross funds available to the endowed principal
- d. Pursue Victor's idea to assign \$1,800 for on-line media demonstrations
- 8. Treasurers Report Branson: Finances are in order
 - Action Item Patricia to look for use of some of the available COF funds to look at scholarships, grants and other uses Goldschmidt, Cummins, Mescher to work on this
- 9. Secretary's Report Simmonds: nothing to report
- 10. Subcommittee Reports
 - a. Mentoring Action item to have Patricia make available to CTTC chairs of each ASHRAE Chapter a report listing the Fellows that are in the Chapter's geographic area

11. Old Business

- Patricia reported that the new Development (fund raising) Committee will be meeting tomorrow for the first time
- Action Item Chair to send email encouraging contributions to the Bill Coad scholarship fund
- c. Dave Branson and Victor Goldschmidt brought up the subject of COF partnering with YEA to use You-Tube and/or other similar technologies to promote good practices in ASHRAE-related industries
 - Motion Claridge seconded approved unanimously
 - "Dave Branson will represent the COF in Forum 4 on Tuesday morning at 0945 to promote the idea of getting YEA and others to engage ASHRAE intelligentia to develop You-Tube- and TED- type technologies to create "how-to" shorts for use of Society-promoted methods & technologies in ASHRAE-related industries"
- d. Nominating Committee has nominations due in February for incoming Officers –
 Dick Hayter to assemble this committee

12. New Business

- a. Student Members, Student Activities Chair, SBA, Chapter President, and Grad Students (if we can separate out) get e-mail about travel award
- b. The COF reviewed the application and award guidelines for the upcoming COF Travel Award program and confirmed the current schedule.

- c. Victor Goldschmidt, Development Committee Representative, gave a summary of the Development Committee meeting and the May Fundraising meeting in Atlanta. The entire COF Board expressed their excitement at the improved ability to expand ASHRAE's fundraising program and looks forward to working with the other fundraising groups.
- d. COF recommends that ASHRAE considers allocating time for the Development Committee to meet in person outside of the Annual and Winter Conferences. All agreed that the May meeting was beneficial and in order to move at the 'speed of business', additional in person meetings are required for at least the first year – 2015-16 Society Year.
- e. The COF MOP was updated to reflect the current procedures. These changes represent simple housekeeping and no major policy changes. Please see Attachment A.
- f. The 2015-16 COF Travel Award recipients were introduced and gave a brief explanation of their studies. This year's winners are Amanda Webb (Penn State) and Marianna Vallejo (UT – Arlington). These winners will also attend the 2016 Orlando Winter Conference.

Adjournment 12:00

Submitted:

Peter Simmonds Secretary College of Fellows